From Stockholm to Sheffield

I’ve just been sorting through the fantastic photos I’ve received from shows over the last month or two and processing all the wonderful experiences I’ve had. I would like to share a few of them with you!

First up in October, I was invited to perform at The International Stockholm Burlesque Festival, a prestigious event in Sweden, and one of the most enjoyable burlesque festivals I’ve been part of so far. Thanks to Fraulein FraukeJohn Paul Bichard and their super team for making me feel very welcome! I had the opportunity to perform on stage at the glorious Södra Teatern and watch a fantastic show at the 1920s Nalen Ballroom the following night. I also met wonderful performers from across the world and see some lovely sights.

A highlight for me was attending Lola Frost‘s mind-blowing workshop – it was intense, thought-provoking and just what I needed to develop my performance skills… thank you so much Lola!

Next stop was back in the UK for Halloween. Being based in the very south of the country (and thanks to extortionate UK rail prices) I have actually never performed in the north of England until now. I got to perform at the legendary The Cat’s Pyjamas in Grimsby, which is nearing its tenth year of shows. Performing alongside Titsalina Bumsquash (who I met for the first time at the Stockholm festival- small world!), Raven Noir, Aurora Galore and singer Shannon Gilby; this was a gem of a show with an enthusiastic, warm and loyal audience that packed the venue to the rafters. Well done Snappy, Monkey and all involved!

10408869_1624439591151648_1204112398620349537_n

Backstage at The Cat’s Pyjamas

After a few days at home, it was back up north to Sheffield for The Velvet Burlesque presents ‘Cabaret Gothique’ for Halloween weekend. Here I performed alongside The Vivid AngelEliza DeLiteHells Belle (who also created the show), Pin Up CandySir Leopold Aleksander and resident troupe The Yorkshire Puddings. For two nights the lovely Library Theatre was our home- a lovely venue with a great audience and Sheffield was thoroughly explored through shopping and tiki cocktails!

Onwards to the first The International Welsh Cabaret Festival– in my home city of Cardiff and in the theatre where I made my very first theatre costumes many years ago – the Sherman. Created by Foo Foo LaBelle and Didi Curv’e, this weekend of shows with international and local performers, skills workshops and stalls was spectacular. I thoroughly enjoyed catching up with my old Burlesque Cardiff (now Cardiff Cabaret Club) troupe and audiences and watching the newcomer performers at the Cwtch Awards. The main newcomer award was truly deserved by winner Pi the Mime, who made me laugh, shed a tear, feel inspired and speechless with his performance. I will post his video here when it is ready.

On the Saturday, I participated in Kiki Lovechild‘s clowning workshop which was great fun, before performing in the main Gala Show. Never have I been part of a cast in a UK show that consisted of such a large number of headline acts – Kiki DeVilleBetty Blue EyesLilly Laudanum (who went on to win the British crown at World Burlesque Games the next day- well done Lilly!), Lady WildflowerTuesday Laveau and many more. A big night for the Welsh cabaret and burlesque scene!

I’m now enjoying a couple of weeks off for some family time and festive preparations, before performing at one of my favourite shows –Kinky & Quirky on 11th December. I hope to see you there!

 

Headline image: © http://www.VelvetBurlesque.co.uk™ “The Velvet Burlesque present Cabaret Gothique” (October 2015) Photographer: ejphoto.co.uk

